MENU LOGIN 
   Redirecting... ...to our OLD website!

We're still in the process of converting the site to the new format.

Apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

-Matt, Admin

Ok - go now to OLD site

No thanks - stay on NEW site

Technical Motorbike Help

Akrapovic Exhaust - Road Legality

Akrapovic Exhaust - Road Legality - Forums [Biker Match] Akrapovic Exhaust - Road Legality - Forums [Biker Match]
Home / Search Forums / Technical Motorbike Help /

Akrapovic Exhaust - Road Legality

Hi - A complete newbie to the biking world. So forgive me for any silly questions as I have very little knowledge about parts or modifications.I am looking and buying a Suzuki SV650 S which has had a Akrapovic Exhaust fitted. My question is is the system road legal?Please see a photo of the bike in my profile images.I am testing the bike tomorrow so would appreciate some speedy responses Many thanks.

Update Reply
dapapapa @ 09/04/2010 21:03  

Heyyyy there ... NICE BIKE !! LOVE the colour ... yup guess what I have & the same colour hehehehe

www.jhsracing.co.uk/akrapovic.htm

Full write up on the exhaust, road legality depends on which is fitted by the looks of it

However its worth noting ...

All Akrapovic systems will increase power output of your motorcycle over its stock system, but to gain the most benefit we recommend that the system is installed by one of our expert fitters and the bike is then checked on our dyno.

So could well affect insurance

Update Reply
Deleted User @ 09/04/2010 21:09  

As I understand it a silencer intended for road use should be BS or E stamped to show that it meets noise regulations, those intended solely for track use should say "Not for road use" or similar. If it isn't stamped at all then it may well still be legal depending on how loud it is. This is complicated a bit because many stamped cans have removable baffles, so can actually still be illegal with their baffles removed.