MENU LOGIN 
   Redirecting... ...to our OLD website!

We're still in the process of converting the site to the new format.

Apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

-Matt, Admin

Ok - go now to OLD site

No thanks - stay on NEW site

Technical Motorbike Help

Tuneing Weber IDF Carbs

Tuneing Weber IDF Carbs - Forums [Biker Match] Tuneing Weber IDF Carbs - Forums [Biker Match]
Home / Search Forums / Technical Motorbike Help /

Tuneing Weber IDF Carbs

I have an air cooled 1.6L VW beetle engined trike, with twin Weber IDF 44 carbs.

I have a pair off synchrometers for tuning the airflow.

But no matter what I try the carbs will not match up one is always to high and will not come down to match the other one.

If any body has any suggestions they would be most appreciated.

I am in the sunny town of Pouton-Le-Fylde, Lancashire.

Update Reply
wheels01253 @ 11/09/2008 06:35  

Hi Wheels, I'm no expert but could you have an air leak at the manifold? This would ruin the mixture settings and could account for the odd running on one side. I assume that there is slack at the cable/throttle linkage at zero throttle opening ? Hope it helps, BB

Update Reply
Deleted Member @ 11/09/2008 07:56  

There are loads of VW forums online Wheels - might be worth having a rummage through their discussion boards and seeing if there are any hints/tips on them? You can't be the first person ever to have had this problem ;o) There's also a site called carburetor clinic dot com, which has some really clear step by step instructions for all sorts of things carb... Probably much of it will be like teaching you to suck eggs, but maybe you might spot something of use to you? Best of luck with it! :o)

Update Reply
Wannabe @ 11/09/2008 08:19  

Carburettor clinic dot com? Online? NOW she tells us.

Update Reply
Deleted Member @ 11/09/2008 16:24