MENU LOGIN 
   Redirecting... ...to our OLD website!

We're still in the process of converting the site to the new format.

Apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

-Matt, Admin

Ok - go now to OLD site

No thanks - stay on NEW site

General Chat/Anything Goes

Nods, waves and leg shakes!

Nods, waves and leg shakes! - Forums [Biker Match] Nods, waves and leg shakes! - Forums [Biker Match]
Home / Search Forums / General Chat/Anything Goes /

Nods, waves and leg shakes!

Hi all, I recently read Uneasy Rider by Mike Carter and thought it was an enjoyable enough read. However he mentions British bikers not waving and acknowledging each other and then it dawns on him the British greeting is leg waving Now he was new to biking when he wrote the book but I'm guessing he just hadn't noticed the odd nod here and there and was over thinking things! But it got me pondering: Apologies if the matter of "nods" has been raised before but i'm a newbie here. I remember being a proud 16 yr old on my little AP50 sitting at a set of lights and having every member of an oncoming MC nod at me - making me feel like a true road warrior and quite the man about town! Now i'm lucky if one in ten bikers nod back (don't hold me to that figure) and that's in winter which used to be the last bastion of biker nodding where the foolhardy few ackowledged a fellow masochist in their sodden, shivering misery! Am i alone in this observation and just an aging old fart who is missing something?

Update Reply
Deleted Member @ 20/01/2012 16:36  

No you're not going senile Squiddy, there seem to be fewer nods being exchanged as time goes on. There also seems to be a bike type divide, cruisers wont nod to sports and vice versa and nobody nods to mopeds/125's! I however try and nod to everyone unless im coming unstuck on a corner and then it might be a leg wave but possibly not for the reasons you think! lol!
Long Live the Nod!

Update Reply
bagpuss1981 @ 20/01/2012 16:47