MENU LOGIN 
   Redirecting... ...to our OLD website!

We're still in the process of converting the site to the new format.

Apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

-Matt, Admin

Ok - go now to OLD site

No thanks - stay on NEW site

General Chat/Anything Goes

Advanced riding v Standard…

Advanced riding v Standard… - Forums [Biker Match] Advanced riding v Standard… - Forums [Biker Match]
Home / Search Forums / General Chat/Anything Goes /

Advanced riding v Standard…

It was June this year I passed my advanced test. The examiner did say “its not the end but the beginning.” So I am still learning. Recently travelling with friends going up to Cadwell Park, on an approach to a right-hander I’m on the left side, a mate in front is near the middle, as per normal. All of sudden he realises the turn is too sharp, slows up and cuts over to the left! As luck happens rather than collide with him, I went further over to the left and rode over the ‘Give Way’ lines of a road (from the left) with no car waiting. The question is, where should I be safely be positioned in this scenario? Keep further back? (I’d lose them and get lost if no satnav!) Take the lead? (No chance they’re too quick!). I wonder how many here have similar experiences and found a happy medium?

Update Reply
Deleted Member @ 10/09/2011 14:38  

been riding on the road since 1986 ronaldo and i still dont know what im doing !

Update Reply
WheelyNealy @ 10/09/2011 14:43  

Lol! Thats alot of help thanks!

Update Reply
Deleted Member @ 10/09/2011 14:44  

I'd say you should have been more to the middle of the lane Ronaldo if there was a junction on the left ahead, presuming you couldn't see well into that junction.

Yes, we position to the left on the approach to right handers and to the right on the approach to left handers, but this is only the very basics of road positioning.