MENU LOGIN 
   Redirecting... ...to our OLD website!

We're still in the process of converting the site to the new format.

Apologies for the inconvenience and thank you for your understanding.

-Matt, Admin

Ok - go now to OLD site

No thanks - stay on NEW site

Technical Motorbike Help

Cleaning the chain

Cleaning the chain - Forums [Biker Match] Cleaning the chain - Forums [Biker Match]
Home / Search Forums / Technical Motorbike Help /

Cleaning the chain

Hi everybody, I am a newbie. The weather man says the sun is going to shine tomorrow, so I am going to clean the chain on my Hornet. Never done it before so I'm after some tips. I have rear paddock stand , WD40 cleaner and lube and a special little brush. Thanks guys Shelley

Update Reply
Deleted Member @ 30/05/2014 08:33  

do not put wd40 on your chain!!!! it will get into the links and destroy the o rings.if you must clean your chain(although not sure why) use motor oil.if you can take it off soak it in petrol and then in oil before replacing and then lubeing.but if you have any kinks or tight spots then the only way forward is to replace the chain.wd40 is no good for cleaning chains !!!

Update Reply
zzrbabe42 @ 30/05/2014 16:13  

Think WD40 chain cleaner GK meant ZZR, instructions will be on back of cleaner spray GK, make sure you wash it off completely in time given on tin so as not to damage 'o' or 'x' link seals

Update Reply
ExupRichR1 @ 30/05/2014 18:20  

I asked a motorbike mechanic about the WD40 damaging the chain O rings, his response was "utter rubbish mate!"

I use the Asda cheapo WD40 copy - spray on and whizz chain through the chain cleaner brush - clean off with a rag, repeat.

Once chain is looking shiny and clean, apply the chain lube, generously, leave for a few mins then wipe the excess off and job done

Update Reply
Deleted Member @ 31/05/2014 13:25  

Wd40 melts some plastics. Given time it may damage the o rings.